I was a painter and this accident changed his life forever. ↩, These areas, indeed, seem to be particularly sensitive to disturbance and impairment, from a great variety of causes, Transient alterations of color vision are not uncommon in (visual) migraines. You can’t imagine it: the only way I can express it is to make a complete gray room, with everything in it gray—and you yourselves would have to be painted gray, so you’d be part of the world, not just observing it. (Thus a green area would be seen by him as “white” in green [medium-wavelength] light, but as “black” in white or red [long-wavelength] light. Answer Save. I was a successful artist in his later half of his life when he was in a car accident leaving him with cerebal achromatopsia, the inability to perceive color or distinguish letters. Goethe thought (mistakenly) that Newton had reduced color to the purely physical, and reacted by elevating it to the purely mental. It was only the next morning, when his wife saw the side of the car stove in, that she asked him what had happened. These vulnerable areas may also be affected in a variety of diseases, from multiple sclerosis to brain tumors and strokes. Phantoms in the brain : probing the mysteries of the human mind / By: Ramachandran, V. S. Published: (1998) Mind, medicine, & man. That day he decided to go to work again. Intriguingly, his perception of the spectrum bore no resemblance to that of the retinally colorblind (which has a single peak of luminosity in the green around 500 nanometers) but did resemble that of people with normal (“photopic”) vision, whose perception of luminosity reaches a peak in the yellow-green (around 560 nanometers). People’s figures might be visible and recognizable half a mile off—as he himself said in his original letter, and many times later, his vision had become much sharper (“that of an eagle”), but this was the sharpness of extreme contrast or silhouette. Related Links. There is a simple or “naturalistic” way of reg